Apex Racing NASCAR Blog Ed. 11 - Apex Racing UK

Apex Racing UK

Menu

Apex Racing NASCAR Blog Ed. 11

NASCAR iRacing Series (NiS)

After what was a very successful week at Michigan, this week we rolled into Sonoma Raceway for the first road course of the season in the NASCAR iRacing Series. Sonoma Raceway has minimal passing spots, and even those are difficult to pull off. Stock cars rarely are expected to turn left and right, but on top of that, Sonoma Raceway has major elevation changes around the track as well as large kerbs which need to be attacked for gaining maximum time – this makes setups and driving style to be quite a challenge. Unsurprisingly, the week would also be expected to see low participation and yet a high attrition rate.

For the first race of the week on Wednesday 9pm EDT/Thursday 2am BST there were five splits. In the third split, Apex Academy member Tyler Pinsonneault started sixth, finishing fourth after the 55 lap race. Apex Academy member Mark Nadeau missed out on a top 10 with an eleventh place finish. Over in the fourth split, Apex Academy member Steven Parks closed out the top 5 having started ninth following a clean race.

With only two splits for the Thursday 3pm EDT/8pm BST race, in the top split, Apex Academy Gold member Jake Forster missed out on a top 10, finishing 12th after starting back in 27th. In the second split, Apex Academy member Andrew Botterill ended up third  after starting fifth, never dropping out of the top 10 all race.

NASCAR Sonoma

#2 Josh Thornton leading #27 Steven Parks

The Friday 9pm EDT/Saturday 2am BST had four splits, where in the second split, Tyler Pinsonneault missed out on another top 10 with a twelfth-placed finish; he was also the only notable finisher, because even though other Apex Academy members took part, many were unsuccessful in getting to the end of the race after being in an incident, let alone scoring a good finish.

Onto the final race slot on Sunday 10am EDT/3pm BST which also had two splits. In the top split Apex Academy member Thomas Keene started 9th, recovering back to ninth after having an early spin on lap 1. Shout-out to Apex Academy Gold member Robert Ehrling for persevering to the end of the race in 20th, three laps down after a tough race but making it to the chequered flag.

So a quiet week is over, as we head into the second race at Daytona International Speedway where Apex Racing will look to build on the success from the previous superspeedway week at Talladega.

Categories:   NASCAR iRacing Series